Middle East

Gulf Air and Etihad Airways Add Four Destinations to Existing Codeshare Agreement

Etihad B787
Boeing 787 | Etihad Airways

Gulf Air, the national airline of the Kingdom of Bahrain, and Etihad Airways, the national airline of the United Arab Emirates, have added four airports in the United States of America to the list of cities served by the existing codeshare agreement.

The addition of the new destinations further strengthen the solid ties between the two countries and carriers by continuing to enjoy a strong and robust relationship following the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between the two carriers at the Bahrain International Airshow in November last year.

Gulf Air will place its ‘GF’ code on Etihad flights from Abu Dhabi to and from Chicago O’Hare, Los Angeles, New York JFK and Washington and will be able to enjoy the preclearance facility offered at Abu Dhabi International Airport exclusively for Etihad flights. The United States Customs and Border Protection (CBP) facility at Terminal 3 in Abu Dhabi Airport is a purpose-built facility that allows US bound passengers to process all immigration, customs and agriculture inspections in Abu Dhabi before they depart. On arrival in the USA, guests arrive as domestic passengers, speeding up the arrival process and making onward connections more seamless.

In addition to the points in the USA, Gulf Air will place its ‘GF’ code on Etihad flights from Abu Dhabi to and from Bahrain, Brisbane, Jakarta, Lagos, Melbourne and Sydney for a total of nine cities under this codeshare agreement.

The agreement will see Etihad place its ‘EY’ code on Gulf Air flights from Bahrain to and from Abu Dhabi, Baghdad, Casablanca, Dhaka, Faisalabad, Larnaca, Multan, Najaf, Peshawar, Sialkot and Tbilisi.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top